A new name will be engraved in the Allan Scally Trophy for the 2022 race. With a well-balanced youthful team, Giffnock North AC surprised a few of the more fancied teams for the trophy. Duncan Robinson blew the field apart on leg 2 to smash the new course record set by Kane Elliott (Falkirk Victoria Harriers) on leg 1. Duncan’s time of 14.26 and Kane’s time of 14.31 both were faster than the previous record held by Jamie Crowe (14.33) of Central AC. Giffnock were not satisfised with supplying a new individual record but also set a new team record of 60mins 5secs with the team of Cameron Green (U/17) 14.56*(New U/17 record) ,Duncan Robinson (U/20) 14.26,Cameron Deverill (U/17) 15.26 and Reuben MacDonald (U/17) 15.15. A fantastic achievement for this very youthful team. Giffnock coach Dudley Walker (ex -Shettleston Harriers in his youth ) was also delighted to get hold of the trophy. He explained his father had been part of the organisation committee who funded raised to buy the trophy in 1969 (Cost £200) now valued at over £2000.

The Start of the 51st Allan Scally Road Relay

Stirling University finished 2nd in the team race with Hamish Hickey recording a time of 14.36 (3rd Fastest) just outside the old record – Special mention must be given to Alistair Marshall of Stirling University (14.56) who lost a shoe and ran most of the race with only one shoe! The Fife AC who finished 3rd contained two of the UK Paralympic teams of Tokyo, Owen Millar and Derek who added a bit of class to the Scally field.

Annabel Simpson of Fife AC also produced a stunning run to smash her own record of (16.19) when she ran 15.39.This run puts her high up in rankings in the UK and if she can translate this to the track a Commonwealth Games Qualifying time !

The University teams dominated the women’s race with Edinburgh University taking the trophy when beating their Glasgow rivals. Edinburgh based, Corstorphine, taking 3rd just ahead of the defending champions Shettleston Harriers.

The club is grateful to all the companies and organisations who supported the race – We can’t do it without you 

Thompson Solicitors Scotland, Clarkson Owens Specialist Recruitment, Bespoke Touches Wedding & Event Decorators ,Calton Area Partnership, Total Teamware Ltd, The People’s Podiatry, Tesco Shettleston ,Arnold Clark, Barclay’s Bank, St Andrews Ambulance and of course all the volunteers who make the event a success.

The Scottish Students Road Relay championships is held within the Allan Scally Memorial Relay

Results below 

Men 1st Stirling University , 2nd Glasgow University , 3rd Edinburgh University       

Women 1st Edinburgh University , 2nd Glasgow University , 3rd Glasgow University B

FINAL RESULTS and List of Prize winners for 2022

Lachie Stewart (1970 CG Gold Medalist) our starter on the day

Thank you to Lesley McNicol and Peter McLaughlin for the photos

Checkout the photos on our Flicker Page

Thank you to Jackie Mitchell and Iain Pender for the the photos

Leave a Reply